Mirror, mirror on the wall


I started the ancient art of mosaicing a few years ago when my much loved gold framed mirror shattered into a million pieces. I was devastated, my heart was shattered. (I’m sensitive like that).  Diligently, I collected all the teeny tiny shards of glass. Vince thought I was going stark raving mad!!! I can still hear him asking “what on earth are you going to do with all of that broken mirror?” Well, thanks to that broken mirror, I now have the pleasure of creating beautiful pieces of art. My new motto is “I will create beautiful things, even if nobody cares.” As it turns out, people do care and, to my surprise, have ordered mosaics from me. Wow!!! AND when birthdays and Christmas roll around, I find my loved ones hinting for a special one-of-a-kind mosaic gift.

Now let me get right down to the point. I was asked to mosaic a mirror for a friend of a friend. Of course I said “No problem, I will do it with pleasure.” This mirror turned out to be a great BIG mammoth task. Ok, maybe I’m exagerating just a wee bit, but I did sit for hours and hours mosaicing, and had a meltdown (or two). I thought I would never get this mirror finished and I constantly worried that it wouldn’t be good enough and that all my hard work would be for nothing! Aaarhg, those were dark days. But the dark days faded and eventually I finished the mirror and Charmaine LOVED it.

Here is a pic of the completed mirror.

Please excuse the bad picture quality, these pics were taken with my Blackberry. I really need to learn how to snap pics with my proper camera. I will try really hard from now on, promise.

This is the half-completed mirror. The mirror is 800mmx800mm and the width of the frame is 400mm.

And here is the mirror with my hand in the picture just to give you a rough idea of the size.

I will give you guys a breakdown of all the tools I use for these projects. Expect a lot more posts about mosaicing. I’m totally hooked, I just wanna mosaic all day long!!!!

Leave a Reply

