Kitchen Demo


One day, I said to my hubby “Lets open up the kitchen to the lounge, we can just take out the counter and cupboards, and knock down that funny wall and remove the arch. It will give us a lot more space”.

Easier said than done. The cupboards and counter were a piece of cake to remove, and we saved all the wood to use on a different project. Score!!! Wood is expensive in our parts. Now, I thought that the wall and arch would be just as easy to demo. I was wrong, so very very wrong. Like a good DIY wife I was there helping, and oh-my-word, it was such hard work! I spent the next few days in agony, my whole body hurt. Here are a few pics to show you how the whole deal went down. I should have taken more pics to illustrate the whole process but in the midst of it all, I forgot.

My hubby starting demo on the brick wall :). My job was to carry the bricks to the wheelbarrow waiting outside the backdoor. It sounds like an easy job but man oh man was it tough. Especially for a small girl like me.

As you can see, my house was in a mess. I don’t like mess, I should have been born with a dust cloth in my hand, I just loooove wiping things and making them sparkly clean.  I think I got that from my mother (love you Mom). As you can see from the pics below, we now have a lot of patching up to do, like tiling and painting and moving one or two cupboards. Sigh… it never seems to end…

I will post some updated pics of the kitchen. We have done a little bit of the touch-up work but there is still a long road ahead. Nobody said DIY was easy.

Leave a Reply

