Picture Picture on the Wall


A few years ago, I went to my cousin’s house for a visit. It was the first time Vince and I had been to visit her and her hubby in their new home. They have a beautiful old home with high ceilings and the most amazing wood details. Things I would love to have in my home. People with more modern boxy homes like myself have to add those details by scouring antique stores to find old wooden treasures (at a decent price)that add character to a home.

Anyway, to cut a (very) long story short, when we were served tea in their lounge with oh-so-gorgeous old hardwood floors, yummy, I couldn’t help but notice one glaringly UGLY painting on the wall. And when I say ugly, it was uuuuuggggllly. A lizard of some sort with bulging eyes. It was so ugly and I told my cousin so, I just couldn’t help myself, it just slipped out of my mouth. Vince just gave me a look as if to say “Did you really? Really?”. Well I did and she wasn’t offended. She thought it was ugly too. So being the great cousin that I am, I offered to take the ugly lizard home to make him more beautiful. So I made him more beautiful by making him disappear completely. I started to paint with no idea of what I was going to do, and then it suddenly came to me. Here is a tiny glimpse of what I have planned for this amazing work of art.

As you can see there is a lot of texture and detail involved. It should keep me busy for a while but I will post a pic of the complete artwork. 🙂

Leave a Reply

