13 going on 40!


Why do teenagers think that they know EVERYTHING? My 13 year old niece knows everything and her opinion is the only one that counts. On a recent shopping trip, I held up a pair of jeans that I thought were quite cute, Jade turned to me with her little hand on her hip and politely said “Oh my word Aunty Cands, you can’t be serious, I would NEVER wear that!” I’ve gone from being the cool aunt, to the boring aunt who has no idea about anything. How sad is that? When she was 9 years old she told me that she wants to be just like me when she grows up…  Not anymore :(.

Years ago, Vince made Jade some beautiful plain white frames for her room, he made them in a way that the pictures in the frames could be replaced as she outgrew them. At the time I put in pictures of the Jonas Brothers and Hannah Montana, which she loved, but now, not so much. Those old pics were way overdue for a makeover, and since Jade is redecorating her room, my timing couldn’t be more perfect. But I had no idea where to start, I had to find inspiration somewhere (eeeeeck), the pressure was on. How do I impress this all-knowing teenager?

And then it dawned on me, LOVE… that would be my inspiration. I love Jade, love her like she is my own daughter, she even calls me her “other mother”. So sweet, my heart melts when she introduces me to her friends.

So, with my new found inspiration (and a little help from Pinterest), I got busy designing! This is the end result 🙂

This artwork will look amazing with Jade’s new purple colour scheme, and hopefully she won’t outgrow it anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

